Visiting Address 

Finland Convention Bureau / Finnish Tourist Board
P.O. Box 625, Töölönkatu 11
FI-00101 Helsinki, Finland
Tel. +358 10 60 58 000
Fax +358 10 60 58 333

Service providers

Contact Us


About us

Finland Convention Bureau (FCB) is a national organisation representing the meetings and events industry. FCB offers solutions and will find on your behalf the ideal destination, organiser, city, venue, accommodation, transportation and/or restaurant services to suit your specific needs.

FCB was founded back in 1974 among the first national convention bureaus in Europe.
The initiative for establishing the bureau was made by the Helsinki Chamber of Commerce. Initially the activities of the bureau focused on attracting international association meetings to the Finnish capital as reflected by the bureau's original name, Helsinki Congress Bureau.

In 1982 its activities were expanded to cover the entire country. In addition to funding by representatives of the meeting industry and municipalities, the bureau was also supported by the then Ministry of Trade and Industry (now the Ministry of Employment and the Economy). The current name was adopted in 2002. In 2006 FCB also took over responsibility from the Finnish Tourist Board for developing the corporate travel sector. Over the years Finland has established a position as one of the top 20 congress destinations in the world.

FCB's operations were transferred to the Finnish Tourist Board at the beginning of 2011.


Committee of Experts

The activities of FCB are directed by a committee of experts.

Committee 2012-2015:

Ilkka Niiniluoto, Chancellor, University of Helsinki
Markku Mattila, President, Academy of Finland
Matti Jakobsson, Rector, University of Vaasa
Aura Korppi-Tommola, Executive Director, Federation of Finnish Learned Societies
Kristiina Wähälä, Professor, University of Helsinki
Pentti Huovinen, Professor, University of Turku
Ainomaija Haarla, President & CEO, Technology Academy
Risto Ihalainen, Deputy CEO, Finnish Medical Association
Erkki KM Leppävuori, President & CEO, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
Arja Suominen, Senior Vice President, Communications , Finnair
Pekka Mattila, Professor, Aalto University Executive Education
Mauri Ylä-Kotola, Rector, University of Lapland
Riitta Smeds, Professor, Aalto University of Art and Design
Salme Näsi, Professor, University of Tampere


International memberships

We are members of ICCA, ECM, MPA, SITE and UIA.


FCB personnel